Telling your Realtor about your bankruptcy

I previously discussed finding Realtor to purchase a home after your bankruptcy.  But, a big question remains -- Should you tell them about your bankruptcy?  

Here are my thoughts -- I would not immediately volunteer the information.  I would first vet them for their professionalism and experience.  Then, I would line up a mortgage professional to get you a pre-approval letter.  If you are not beyond your 24 months, you won't be able to get a pre-approval letter yet.  

I would then approach the Realtor with "your story".  Explain why (but keep it brief) you went into bankruptcy (i.e. medical, job loss) and what has changed to make a home purchase possible.  Present your budget and your income.  Explain what you can afford and why.  Explain your timeline to purchase, where you want to purchase, and your long-term plan.  The more, organized information you can provide, the better.